Day to Day

by annadelaurier

We have been given this one moment right now…and then the moment has already passed. Yesterday has passed as well. Why are we wasting our moments on this earth? We don’t know when they will cease to exist. I am the guiltiest of all in this regard; I often find myself daydreaming about what I could be doing with my time but never getting around to actually doing it. Part of it is about self-motivation. Another larger part, though, is about finding my satisfaction fully in Christ. If my satisfaction truly was in him, I would not have trouble motivating myself to do what’s right or good. I would not have a desire to be lazy, apathetic, or uninvolved. Honestly, I generally know what the best decisions are on a daily basis, but I do not always feel drawn to be my best. It’s easier to do what’s easy…so often that is what I choose. Even if I choose to do something challenging or not necessarily “fun,” many times it is a choice of diversion. I don’t want to face what’s really going on in my heart and soul so I clean or cook or read To Kill a Mockingbird. Of course those are not bad things, but they can make me forget to be still and know that He is God.

Psalm 96:1,2
Oh sing to the Lord a new song;
    sing to the Lord, all the earth!

Sing to the Lord, bless his name;
    tell of his salvation from day to day.

 

I was told that “day to day” in this scripture actually means to constantly praise the Lord, every waking hour. What a beautiful picture of thankfulness and love. He has done great things for us. I’m ready to have that kind of joy and peace to be able to SING to Him even in the midst of hard times. I am not even having hard times right now and I am having trouble praising him. Like I said a week or two ago, the times really are too good. I should be praising him doubly for what he has done and what he continues to do. Let’s all be thankful.

