Even Though I Don’t Have Kids…

by annadelaurier

Around midnight last night, some crazy, old, unnamed college pastor I sat with at Waffle House told me to keep blogging, so here I go. I’ve realized lately that if I listen to people who have lived more life than me, things usually go more smoothly than if I try to figure it out on my own. Who knows why it took nineteen and a half years to begin to understand this…

God is our heavenly Father, but he also has given us fathers and mothers on earth to provide for us, protect us, and be an example to us. Of course, wicked humans do not get this right without the power of the Holy Spirit. So, those living outside of the Spirit cause their children to suffer. This is key when pondering the state of humanity today and for the future state of humanity. Children copy the big people in their lives. I always find it amusing when parents complain about how spoiled their kids are. Who spoiled them..? the dog?  There is a mindset among American parents that kids need to be entertained, they shouldn’t work too hard, and they basically get to call the shots. Obviously this is a blanket statement that doesn’t apply to every single family in our country, but it does seem to be the norm at the time. Some parents think disciplining children is hurting them. It is easier in the moment to let your screaming kid have the candy bar at Wal-Mart, but that just promises more judgemental looks from other customers next time your kid is screaming in the check out line. Don’t let me even begin to talk about technology and kids, either. That’s another story in itself.
I have to add that I am not actually a parent, so I don’t have any right to even be saying these words. It will be interesting to look back on this and see how I’ve done with my kids later on down the road, though. Also, once I begin nannying I will probably have a better understanding of all this, which I’m stoked about.

