After my accidental all-nighter Saturday night, I went

by annadelaurier

After my accidental all-nighter Saturday night, I went to Orthros and Liturgy at St. Philothea Greek Orthodox Church. It was beautiful, to say the least. I am so drawn to that life because it draws people into communion with God Almighty, the Creator and Sustainer of the universe. I love that it engages all of the senses; smell the incense, gaze at the iconography, hear the bells and the chanting, change positions depending on what part of the service we are in, touch or kiss the priest’s hand, taste the body and blood of Christ. Worship should engage the entire person, and this is what the Liturgy does.
All night Saturday, I had been anxious about so many things and literally could not turn my mind off long enough to fall asleep. As I was driving away from the church, I realized that I felt lighter and began to realize that God still is in control and he loves us, even if everything in my life isn’t perfect or straightforward. When I arrived at my house, my dad told me that all along, he had been planning to pay the difference of whatever I owed for the mission trip to Uganda, which is something I had been trying to figure out how I would handle. I hadn’t even really thought to ask him. My father is a wonderful example of Jesus’ love. Every day, he takes up his cross and shows me how to live a pure life. He works harder than anyone else I know. He paid my debt when he knew I couldn’t do it on my own. Happy Father’s Day to me because my dad is better than yours.

