Salad

by annadelaurier

Often my expectations of something to come are much too idealistic. A small example that occurred most recently involves the garden I planted in May. It’s just a small raised bed with cucumbers, onions, spinach, and lettuce planted. Today, I was thrilled with the thought of eating a salad for dinner that I picked from my back yard. After I took my first bite, though, I was extremely disappointed with how bitter it tasted. I took a few more bites, then turned to the internet. Apparently lettuce and spinach does not do well in high temperatures and will turn bitter if it’s not picked before it gets terribly hot. Now I know. It happened because I did not seek enough guidance for growing a garden.. not that it’s all that difficult, but I could have asked more questions. I feel like I go through all my days like that, just kind of walking along trying to do things on my own, even if I have no idea how. I’m learning that it is not a sign of weakness to ask for help, but it is a wise thing to do.

The wise prevail through great power,
    and those who have knowledge muster their strength.
Surely you need guidance to wage war,
    and victory is won through many advisers.

Proverbs 24 : 5, 6

In other news, I may have found a roommate and apartment in Virginia HIghlands Atlanta. In the same day I met her, I met a mother who wants to hire me as a part time nanny. I really need a full time job, but if all I can get is part time, I will hopefully work at Starbucks to prepare for my long-term dream. I have an interview with a family at the end of the month for a full-time, long-term position, so I’m really hoping that will work out.

